About Niagara on the Lake
Niagara is a unique region of exceptional natural beauty and special historical significance. In recent decades it has also become one of North America's premier theatre centres and an award winning wine making centre.
It is an excellent vacation destination for all ages and interests.
A Brief History of Niagara on the Lake
The first settlers in this region were Loyalists who came here during the American Revolution in the early 1780's. First known as Butlersburg and then Niagara West, the thriving little community was renamed Newark in 1791 when it was chosen by Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe as the capital of the new Province of Upper Canada.
The capital was moved to York (Toronto) in 1796 and in 1798 the name was changed to Niagara by popular demand. The community continued to thrive until the War of 1812 when occupying American troops burned the village to the ground in December of 1813.
After the war, Niagara rose from the ashes as citizens rebuilt their homes and the community grew rapidly and prospered as port and ship-building centre.
By the 1840's the construction of the Welland canal a few miles to the west. had reduced the importance of the community as a centre of commerce and industry for the region.
The town's present name was adopted around 1880 as a postal address to distinguish the town from Niagara Falls, but wasn't officially adopted as the town name until 1970.
Niagara on the Lake played an important role in the development of the Province of Ontario and today is the site of the best collection of early 19th century homes and shops in the Province, as well as the home of many historical sites.
Our Historic Home
The land on which the house is built was granted to George Young in 1794, in recognition of his service to the Crown during the American Revolution.
We know little about George Young except that he was a Master Carpenter and was in charge of refurbishments to Fort George (as well as Fort York and Fort Erie) during the War of 1812.
There is no record of what was on the property prior to the War of 1812, but whatever may have been here was destroyed when the departing American troops razed the town in December of 1813.
In 1815 George Young retired and in 1817 he sold the property to a James B. Jones,who built the house circa 1820, as part of the town's rebuilding phase after War of 1812.
The house has evolved over the years, but retains the ambiance of the Colonial and Victorian eras.
Today, the Apple Tree Historic B&B offers a charming retreat from the hustle and bustle of modern life.